New PPS Format

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

inverness2012

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
The new PPS format makes you send a cover letter to each place that you want to interview with. You also have your available times listed on a schedule, and the jobs/programs can automatically schedule time with you. Any thoughts on the new format? My own thoughts are that the cover letters takes away some of the informality of PPS. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

this is my first time using PPS, and I was surprised that they required cover letters, and I'm now also surprised to see that this was not done in the past. Any thoughts as to why they may have added it?

I was surprised to see the cover letter as well. I wrote the cover letter and put some really good thoughts in it. I kind of felt like that took some of those ideas that I planned to put in my letter of intent. Not all programs are using the scheduler. We confirmed interview times, but only 2 of the 8 interviews have actually confirmed it on the scheduler.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was surprised to see the cover letter as well. I wrote the cover letter and put some really good thoughts in it. I kind of felt like that took some of those ideas that I planned to put in my letter of intent. Not all programs are using the scheduler. We confirmed interview times, but only 2 of the 8 interviews have actually confirmed it on the scheduler.

LOL I feel the same way. Now if I end up applying to any programs that I interview for at PPS I feel like I'll have to re-do my letter of intent for the real application.

If you don't see a program's name in the PPS site, does that mean they don't offer interviews or are their slots just all booked up?

Anyone else not doing PPS for pgy2?