New NINDS study - impact on future of interventional neurology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

riverbear

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a 3rd yr med student thinking it about doing a neurology residency with the goal of pursuing a stroke fellowship and possibly INR. However, I just came across this article, which showed a significantly higher mortality rate in stented patients vs patients who received medical therapy alone. Enrollment in the study was stopped because of the findings:

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/databases/alerts/intracranial_arterial_stenosis.html

For those of you more familiar with interventional neurology, how much of an impact will this have on the future of INR? Also, do you know of any other studies regarding outcomes of INR procedures?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

It will certainly have an impact to some degree, although like all studies there are some flaws. All in all, thank god we're getting some results back on these largely unproven therapeutic modalities.

However, there is an awful lot more to neuroIR than putting Wingspan stents in MCAs, and there are definitely situations in which this device could still be considered (outside of the criteria defined in the study). I'm not a huge IR guy, but I don't see the field drying up over SAMMPRIS. There are multiple ongoing trials of carotid stents, MERCI/Penumbra (MR-RESCUE), etc. that are in the pipeline and/or recruiting patients. Hopefully the next few years will see an explosion in data on how best to apply these tools from an outcomes/mortality perspective.

Quoting my prior post -

The last few posts about interventional neurology likely created some confusion about the field. The subspeciality has a strong base regardless. Let me clarify and also inform.