New here, 3.2 cGPA 3.4 sGPA 34Q.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

quest1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I would say you have about a 50% chance of admission, your mcat is quite good which makes up for your gpa and will get you into the interview phase

I would like to know what you guys think of my chances. I have a 3.2 cGPA, 3.4 sGPA, and 34Q MCAT. I had a curriculum change early in my college career from engineering to pre-med (hint: I didn't do too well as an engineer). Made consistent A's and B's in science courses up until senior year when I had some health problems resulting from kidney infections, and got a couple C's and an F in quantitative chem. I took a year off, and finished with 2 A's one of which was a chem retake. I have lots of volunteer experience in PT and pediatric clinics. I worked at a bio-tech firm for a summer, and now work as a lab assistant in a research lab. I have a hard time thinking I could get in anywhere with my current GPA and an F-bomb on my transcript. I thought about an SMP but I could never decide if it was worth it. Your thoughts would be appreciated.
I think you'd be in good shape for an acceptance to a DO med school as you are, considering they only count the most recent grade if you retake. But for a significant shot at MD, considering the importance of an upward grade trend after an F-bomb, I think you'll need to do more GPA redemption, either with an SMP or an informal postbac consisting of upper-level Bio and Biochem in which you get a 3.7+ GPA. It would also help if one of your letter writers is aware of your health issues and their impact on your grades and can attest to them.

Considering the likelihood that you have documentation, have you tried to get a retroactive withdrawal from that class. Sometimes this happens.

Do you have a lenient state MD school?

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)