Neurosurgery- 3rd year MS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justace

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
All,

I'm a 3rd year med student at a top 40 medical school. I just got my board score back today. I got a 239. I have 4-5 neurosurgery publications with some more on the way. First author in JNS publication.

Am I on my way for a residency? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

All,

I'm a 3rd year med student at a top 40 medical school. I just got my board score back today. I got a 239. I have 4-5 neurosurgery publications with some more on the way. First author in JNS publication.

Yes

All,

You're just bragging. Are you on your way to a spot? Yes. At my program? Not if I have any say about it.

Members don't see this ad :)
How about M3, also top 40 med school, double digit pubs (few co-author basic sci pubs, several first author nsg review pubs, few other coauthor pubs) multiple grants, presentations, and already promised 4 great rec letters all in nsg....but now got a USMLE 1 of 210?

Do i packup my bags and try to get a decent family med position or keep chasing a dream that wont happen?

lol honestly i want to cry but i cant cuz im still in shock.

Have you tried going to talk to your PD or chair at your home program? As invaluable as SDN and uncle Harvey can be sometimes, I think that's probably the first place you should start.

I'm planning on taking Step 2 relatively early. Probably in August/September of 2013. I'm guessing you might want to do the same. If you want something, are you going to let a number define you? That's how I've felt about the SATs, MCAT's, and now Step 1. There have been plenty of people with higher scores that have fallen by the wayside along the way. Nothing beats hard work and desire.