Negative feedback from SLPs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AudQuestions

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an undergrad in communication science disorders. I seem to be drawn more towards audiology than speech therapy, but I keep getting such negativity about audiology from other SLP students, and professional speech therapists.

I know that I do not want to work in a Zounds store, or a Costco dispensing hearing aides on a commission. I have no problem dispensing hearing aides to people, but I would like to do it in a medical setting. Basically I would like to hear what options there are out there in the medical field for audiologists. I am particularly interested in pediatric audiology and working with cochlear implants. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

:welcome:

My first piece of advise is, don't listen to SLP students (I've been in your shoes). They know as much about audiology as a 5 year old knows about calculus.

Now with that said, you don't have to work at Costco or Hear Rx or Miracle Ear dispensing on a commission. That is not what audiology is about. Reality is that in order for audiologist to make money they need to sell hearing aids, unfortunately. Your interest in peds and cochlear implants will most likely have you end up working in a hospital. The field needs more ped audiologist and they are in demand. There are many opportunities for you in the field, and one of the reasons why I switched from speech to audiology. Not to mention I'm not down with writing SOAP notes or finding out half a year later if my tx is actually working.

I'm sure others can add to this as well.