MPH Needing Guidance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

InfectiousDrive

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

So some background: I am currently a third-year undergraduate at the University of Virginia. I am double majoring in Biology and Global Public Health (both BAs). I am interested in attending graduate school for epidemiology/global health with especially a concentration in infectious disease or maternal health. Problem is, I feel kind of lost. I'm not sure if where I currently stand is competitive or not, and if not how to improve my future application. Furthermore, I'm confused about whether or not I need to be planning on working 2+ years before attending graduate school.

Some more stats for reference:
Current Cumulative GPA: 3.372
Current Biology GPA: 3.181
Current Global Health GPA: 3.84
(Hopefully all of these will increase by the time I graduate)
Activities/Experience:
- Week-long Alternative Spring Break trip to Guatemala on a Nutrition Initiative
- Research Assistant on antimalarial resistance (3 years by the time I graduate) --> Won a research grant through the NANOstar Research Fund for summer 2017 and will be giving a poster presentation this spring. Name will be published on graduate student's paper.
- Volunteer for the local women's shelter
- Waitress
- Sorority (leadership positions held)
- Dance company (leadership positions held)

I'm looking for potentially a health policy internship for this summer, but I'm feeling pretty lost. Can anyone answer my above questions and let me know if I'm on the right track?

Edit: Also, if it helps, some schools I'm interested in are Berkeley, Tulane, Columbia, and BU.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: