Needing a little advice on what path to take..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Evangeline

i can and i will :)
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone :)

I've been a silent reader for awhile now and decided to make a post. I'm sort of in a dilemma. I'm currently an undergraduate student and will be a senior this year and will be graduating.

Now I feel like I totally screwed up my college year, but I am really determined to pull off my last year really well. My current GPA is ATROCIOUS (2.57....) and I've retaken Chemistry to get the same grade as the first time (C-), I've withdrawn from Physics and have a W on my transcript, but I've taken it again and got an A in both Physics I and Physics II. I have another W from Philosophy (I was idiotic and didn't pull out of the class soon enough -_-), I've retaken Calc twice and got a B the second time around. I've gotten a D+ in genetics because...I did horribly on the final. I used my AP credit from high school (I got a 5) to get exempt from Bio I, but I got an A in Bio II. Plus some other horrendous grades (mostly Cs).

The point is, I've done horribly academically. However, I really focused and even to my amazement I pulled off a 39 MCAT. And did well in Physics (I got a W for Physics I, and then 2 As for Physics I and II) and Organic Chemistry (B+ the first semester and A- the second semester, with A- and B+ the first and second semesters for the laboratory components).

I'm having trouble deciding what to do after my undergraduate years. I'm currently volunteering and I have extracurriculars and hobbies under my belt.

The things is, I can't decide if I should apply to a special masters program (I really wanted to apply to the Tufts special masters program) or go to an post-bac (like Harvard Extension School) to retake Chemistry and maybe also Biology II since I opted out of the first semester due to my AP credit.