Need Some More Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

unsure student

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am new to this board and have posted only a couple times and was wondering if I could get help from any SDN pre-dents. First and foremost, I graduated in 2003 with a BA in Government and Philosophy. I graduated with a 3.4 g.p.a and only took three science courses. I have a year's left of pre-req's but before I decide to take these courses I have a couple of questions I was hoping this board can help me with. First, I have heard that for people in my situation who have graduated college and then take their pre-req's these courses will be figured into my cumulative g.p.a. Can anybody conifrm this policy? Secondly, I have three W's on my transcript in the three science courses I took. At the time, I had to withdraw from those courses because my grandfather past away and I had to run my father's business and those courses conflicted with my work schedule. My father had to fly overseas to be with our family. I subsequently took those courses over and got an "A", a "B" and a "D," which I plan to retake. Assuming I somehow understand the PAT and score well on my DAT's coupled with a 3.5 g.p.a (that's assuming I get A's in my pre-req's, two years work experience in dentistry, how good if any will be my chances at dental schools in the Northeast? I apologize for the long rambling post. I just want to get all my info out so I can get good info feed back. Thanks in advance. I appreciate any comments or suggestions.

Members don't see this ad.

1) Results of your postbac courses will be calculated cumulatively. Some schools may also consider a separate postbac GPA.

2) Explain your unusual circumstances for the withdrawal and "D" grade within your AADSAS application. There is a question to answer.