Need some advice on dating and workload during residency as well as fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lawyerofip

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Heya,

Around 1.5 months ago I started dating someone who is finishing her residency. We met at the wedding party and hit it off . Dating so far has been both fun and challenging. Additionally, I work in the legal field at one of the leading banks. So my schedule tends to be erratic and her schedule is equally erratic. So finding time is always difficult. Though we've managed to meet once per week now. Today when we met she brought up the whole topic of becoming couple. It was good.

She is planning to attend fellowship at a hospital in CO which is around 4 hour by flight from east coast, plus the time difference. So it's gonna be long distance. She is not sure how her schedule is gonna be during fellowship. Same goes for me as a young professional in my field, my schedule tend to be extremely erratic and busy depending on workload.

While I'm optimistic that we can work things out, I thought I'll ask some questions to avoid too many bumpy roads that may lie ahead. I wanted to get better idea from fellow members on how did you manage dating after finishing residency and at the start of fellowship? Also, what is/was your work-life balance during this period (first years of fellowship)?

Members don't see this ad.

So she asked you to be her boyfriend?
Lol...

I was surprised too. Not that I'm Brad Pitt lookalike nor have I oozing charisma of Jack Nicholson. And I'm also swarming in education debt. So I'm also truly confounded. Maybe she's been single far too long..

Members don't see this ad :)
I was surprised too. Not that I'm Brad Pitt lookalike nor have I oozing charisma of Jack Nicholson. And I'm also swarming in education debt. So I'm also truly confounded. Maybe she's been single far too long..

maybe she just likes you