Need reapplicant/Gap year advice for mid to high stats ORM (soft WAMC too).

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FromKermitsHome

Reaction score
I’m a 4th year undergrad graduating this May with double STEM majors (Biochem, Neuro) hailing from a large state school in the Southeastern US. My GPA is a 3.9 (probably will either stay or go up slightly at the end of this year) and my MCAT is a 518. I’m ORM, but from a rural area. I’m new here, but I hope that's high enough to get one A in the future. I have 1 little publication, no presentations or anything. However, I’m working hard on it in a lab rn. I’m going to try to write my senior thesis; let’s see how that goes. I just started working as a CNA a few months ago, but I have past volunteering experience (around 300-40 hours total combined). I’ve shadowed 1 doctor and 1 CRNA for a total of 120 ish hours. I have 5 recommenders (potentially 7 if I take a gap year). All I had good relationships with.

Now cutting to the chase. I finished my secondaries less than a week ago, and now I am finally coming to terms with the fact that I may not get into a medical school this cycle after denying it for so long. Honestly, I’m disgusted at myself at my procrastination - I had nearly a 3-month turnaround time for my secondaries. Yes, it was due to the stress of this current semester and depression from dealing with the passing of my grandfather this spring and my father losing his job (he was the sole breadwinner for my family), but that doesn’t excuse laziness. At least I’m learning the ultimate lesson BEFORE med school. Although my dad recently got a job and that has helped me try to pull together the motivation to finish these applications, I honestly know I’m not going to get anything past a II. If I do get on a waitlist, and somehow off it this cycle, that would be a miracle from God.