Need help with school choices

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Daisy Randall

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm a highschool student looking at colleges for veterinary degrees. I know the three that seem to be best for me are RUSVM, NCSU, and UGA. I know I have to complete Under grad but I just would really like to start looking at my options. I would like to get responses from current DVM students at atleast these colleges. Just to understand what I'm looking at tuition and money wise. I f you have anything that could help please reply to this thread. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi! I'm a highschool student looking at colleges for veterinary degrees. I know the three that seem to be best for me are RUSVM, NCSU, and UGA. I know I have to complete Under grad but I just would really like to start looking at my options. I would like to get responses from current DVM students at atleast these colleges. Just to understand what I'm looking at tuition and money wise. I f you have anything that could help please reply to this thread. Thanks!
Go to the cheapest undergrad you can. Major in whatever you want. Do well in your classes. Take all the prereqs you need. Be involved in lots of things and get vet shadowing experience. Document it all-hours, contact info, start and end dates, what you did, etc. Google any of those schools including vet school and you can find a plethera of information on them including current tuition rates-these will go up. Ex: "NCSU vet school" or "NCSU vet school tuition". VIN is a great cost resource. VIN Foundation Cost of Education Map
Rankings don't matter and go to the cheapest school-this applies for undergrad and vet school. @SkiOtter has some amazing gifs for these because we cannot emphasize these points enough.

Reactions: 4 users