need help/advice with med school options

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chicagoml

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi....here with a request that is similar to many others. I've gotten tons of info from this website - thanks to posters with so much info, etc.

A little background - I am a 30-year old full-time worker and graduate student. Did the 4-year undergrad thing and never thought I was up for doing medicine. My undergrad GPA is not so hot - about a 2.7 from Vanderbilt....lots of reasons for that.
I currently work in healthcare - I'm in health info management. Also, I'm about to finish my MBA with a 4.0 GPA, which is good. That will end in December. The MBA course has been a little over 2 years, so I'm able to juggle school and work. I just started a health info mgmt course - it's online, and a lot of work. However, I'm managing....again, able to handle a lot of "non-fun" activities in life (i.e. not socializing a huge amount).
I've been researching my options for getting into medical school. The 3 I've come up with are:

1. take science classes on my own time - I need to take at least 8 of them. I figure that's 4 quarters of academic work. I could start in January 2006. From there, I'll figure out MCAT classes, the timing of the exam (April '07 earliest), applications, etc.

Pros: I can continue to work and pay for school as I go (and have employer pay for some of it)
Cons: time; potential disorganization of taking one or two classes at a time; not having the "right" people to write letters of recommendation when the time comes

2. apply to a post-bacc course. Earliest entry would be Jan 2006. Take the MCAT in April or August '07.

Pros: structure; being part of a group moving toward the same goal
Cons: expense; might have to cut back on hours worked

3. medical school in Ireland. I could potentially apply for a fall '06 start.