Need guidance in deciding what to pursue after I graduate from college

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

undecided8080

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a senior college student majoring in psychology and hope to graduate next semester with a B.A in psychology. It's been a professional goal of mine to become a licensed professional in providing counseling and helping others. I've long explored different paths to take post-graduation, but am still unsure as to which to take. I'm interested in getting a Master's in either Marriage/Family therapy OR counseling psychology. That's the only definitive decision I've made so far. Whether or not I should further advance my education is the real question. Opening a private practice isn't really a goal of mine, but I suppose that's something to consider once I'm actually down that road. Either way, I'd prefer working at a hospital or in any other setting.

The clinical/counseling Psy.D program is appealing to me because of the primary focus on clinical work and less on research. But, if I choose to apply to a Psy.D program, I am more likely to rely on loans and other forms of financial aid. In addition, the thought of investing my time, money, and mental energy for 5-8 years is really intimidating and I feel like I could still help people without a doctorate degree.

On the other hand, what are the chances of landing a job after getting a Master's in my desired field? So say I take the MFT route. Someone with a doctorate degree in clinical or counseling psychology might appear more favorable because of their experience, not to mention that a psychologist can treat anyone and specialize in MFT as well. The same applies if I decide to get a master's in counseling psychology.