This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aspiring-dentist101

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am in process of applying this cycle. Due to personal circumstances and things that happened in the past, I didn't perform well during my classes early in college years. Obviously I do not want to blame anyone else or any circumstances that led to such bad performance but this really wasn't me and I For the past couple of years, I've been showing upward trend in my academic and prerequisites courses. I finished my bachelors degree with a low gpa. I took a short break from school and really thought about continuing to pursue my dream of becoming a dentist graduate from a dental school in California. After a short period of time I returned to school to finish my dental prerequisites and obtained 3.80. I can't afford to do a masters degree at the moment. I am doing the honors of helping out my fam with financial expenses, so I figured I could improve my chances by doing other things such as having a good personal statement, DAT score, volunteering hours, etc... I really saw significant improvement in my academics such as going back to school and getting higher grade. So If anyone has any helpful feedback, I would like to hear their suggestions or pm me? I would really appreciate it.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Have you submitted your application? Also would you mind sharing your stats like DAT score, shadowing hours, extracurricular, volunteer hours?

If you are in the process of applying now, I would seriously consider holding off and waiting until next cycle to submit. Those with low GPAs (like myself) are encouraged to apply early (June/July) for better chances at receiving interview invites.