Need advice with PT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

silence44

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need some advice on what to do . I graduated with a BS where my major concentration was kinesiology. So I have a background in science. I took most of pre-reqs for PT school but am still missing 4-6 classes. That's not the dilemma im having, my problem is I finished with a 2.66 GPA. I initially wanted to be a strength coach so I interned at several different schools, as well as achieving my CSCCa certification which is the gold standard in strength & conditioning field.

Thats my background , I want to go back to school next semester and finish my all my pre-reqs and hopefully leave with at least a 3.8+ GPA. I am also going to be finishing my EMT certification in January and should have a job with that, which is nice on the resume. Do you think with my background and my attempt at revamping my GPA that I can possibly get into PT school? Thanks guys

Members don't see this ad.

I think you can. The key is doing research on schools to see if you meet minimum requirements and what the average stats for that school is. Some schools may also put heavier weight on your last 60 completed units versus your cum GPA, so even if you don't bump up your cum GPA as high as you want, doing well on all your remaining classes may be enough. Also, if you have a specific school you want to go to, applying for early decision will dramatically increase your chances of getting in if you have at least met all minimum requirements, but it would help if your stats were somewhat above the average for that school.