Need advice plz

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Toothy smiley

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am an international dentist from India. Plz help me in clearing my doubts and would be grateful for ur inputs.

I cleared my part 1 nbde exam in 2009 and started applying for schools. Did not get any call. So gave part 2. Unfortunately could not clear the exam. Got side tracked.

Now I want to start again. Can I use my part 1 score is it still valid? Is it possible to give part 1 again or should I start preparing for part 2. I know my chances of getting into dental schools is low. But there might be some way out. This time I dont want to quit, I want to be in dental field apart from dental assistant. I tried dental hygiene schools they want me to do all science and math courses again. Are there any other option in dental field if I am not eligible for applying to dental schools which I am hoping should not be.

Appreciate ur sincere advice

Members don't see this ad.

Your Part 1 score is valid, just prepare for a Part 2.I assume you had to work all this time and was working as a dental assistant? All this experience is useful. Try to do well on your TOEFL, write good PS and get good LORs

Your Part 1 score is valid, just prepare for a Part 2.I assume you had to work all this time and was working as a dental assistant? All this experience is useful. Try to do well on your TOEFL, write good PS and get good LORs

Thank you oralcare123 for ur reply. I was not working as a dental assistant to be honest I got busy with personal matters. Did shadowing for few months. So I am afraid I don't have a strong resume.I heard that few schools won't accept the applications if part 1 score is more than 5 yrs old. So was not sure whether to start part 1 or go ahead with part 2. Can u plz tell me what else I can do to improve my chance of getting into dental schools.

Members don't see this ad :)