Medical Need Advice for Re-application, SMP v. Certificate v. DIY Postbac

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I'm a non-traditional student (graduated in 2017, degree in biomedical engineering). I've always wanted to go to medical school, but I spent the past 4 years working in healthcare, prepping for the MCAT etc. I applied in the 2020-2021 cycle and received 3 MD IIs and I'm on 3 WLs. I'm trying to figure out the best course of action if I don't get off a waitlist, and I'm looking for some advice.

The weakest part of my application is my GPA (cGPA: 3.48; sGPA: 3.37). I do have an upward trend (a few classes in my sophomore year really tanked my GPA: C in multivariable calculus, C- in calc-based physics II-- I retook this class once I had a better grasp of the math and got an A).

I just left my job, and if I'm not accepted to med school, I plan to take classes to enhance my academic profile. I've been looking at SMPS, 1 year masters/certificate programs (designed for pre-meds), and DIY post-bac options. The 1 yr certificate program or DIY post bac would be cheaper than an SMP, but how are these viewed by adcoms? If I did a DIY post-bac would I enroll in graduate-level courses? I would have to take a lot of credits to raise my undergrad GPA, so I don't think taking undergraduate courses would be helpful.

The other area I'm a little weak in is non-clinical service. I have some (~70-100 hours), but it was in undergrad and I haven't done any since graduating. (I've been working in health care and have had a very dynamic/unpredictable schedule).

My thoughts are, a DIY program may give me more flexibility to also volunteer, but I might be able to volunteer once a week with a certificate program too. I like the structure that the certificate program offers too, and I'd want to get a LOR from the program since I've been out of school for a few years. Any advice on these options?