need advice about schools and my chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

qirin

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi,

i am interested in getting a degree in clinical psychology. my main interest is in being a therapist, but i would like to have the option of teaching later on. i am primarily interested in more humanistic approaches, but i want to go to a good school that will help me in finding a job. also i would like to work with lgbt people and so i am interested in going to schools that have focuses on sexuality and gender identity.

i am 31 and did not study psychology as an undergrad. I went to UCSD, my major was literature. i graduated in 2003 with department honors and summa cum laude. i had a 3.95 gpa but havent taken the GRE yet.

i worked in an experimental (behavioral) psychology lab both during and after my undergrad work. i did i think three quarters of independent study, presented at a research conference, and received two grants to do summer research. i also took a grad seminar and have two undergrad psych classes. i am listed as co-author on a paper published in an experimental psychology journal (memory and cognition). i can get letters of recommendation from two significant contributors to the experimental field, one whose focus is on learning and the other who is more of a developmental person.

i am wondering if anyone can recommend any specific programs that would fit with my interests; what people think my chances are of getting in and what i could do to improve them; and whether my experimental background will be a help or a hindrance.

thanks!

Members don't see this ad.