NAPLEX & MPJE EXPERIENCE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrNyvia

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Posting my experience of the two tests. I took my NAPLEX last week (passed) and took my MPJE yesterday (pending).

NAPLEX
You've probably heard that it's easy. It is and it's not. If you study calculations and biostats, you can get easy points that are weighted more. However, for the disease states, I felt like no matter how much I studied them, some questions I just had to take a guess on. The NAPLEX is nice in that it doesn't trick you. It's straightforward. Be able to interpret patient charts. They give you lab value ranges, so don't waste your time memorizing those. My test consisted of: calculations, biostats, compounding, HIV, oncology, cystic fibrosis, and thyroid. But everything is fair game. I spent 1 week studying 3 hours per day. I got through 1/3 of RxPrep and looked at 3 videos provided by RxPrep. I took the Pre-NAPLEX before studying and barely passed (80). I did the RxPrep 185 questions and got 44% after studying. I walked out of the actual NAPLEX and felt like a failure. My advice? Take the Pre-NAPLEX. It won't give you answers, but the type of questions is pretty true to the test. I took it before studying too to know where my strengths/weaknesses were so I could focus on it during studying. The RxPrep is a great source to have, but don't fret if you don't get through all of it.

MPJE