My stats

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gundamking

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Currently I am a junior going to be a senior and getting a Degree in Biomedical Engineering. I got an Associates Degree and finished my general chemistry and general biology and general physics there. I had a 3.2 gpa from there and currently in college I have a 2.3 gpa due to organic chemistry which I have failed twice due to the stress of engineering classes. I have retaken and gotten a D in Orgo 1 and now am going to take Orgo 2 in the summer. I work at a hospital and have clincal experience from there. I havent taken the MCAT yet

What should I do to make sure I can get into a good medical school?

(Didn't want to make a repeat post, just wanted to explain my situation, Ask any questions and I will answer to the best of my ability.)

Members don't see this ad.

What should I do to make sure I can get into a good medical school?

With 30 credits to go and a 2.3 your best bet is to retake the classes you've done poorly in and apply to a DO program. They will take your replacement grade, but that still means you need to get an As in them for it to be worth while.

Even if you aced everything from here on out, including post bacc you would still be well below the average in terms of GPA for MD programs.

IMO It doesn't make much sense to take orgo 2 in the summer either when it's condensed if you've already done poorly in the first class twice. Id say retake it, do well, and then take orgo 2.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
retake F/Ds get As apply DO . Not this year, do it after you get those grades.

Reactions: 1 users
With 30 credits to go and a 2.3 your best bet is to retake the classes you've done poorly in and apply to a DO program. They will take your replacement grade, but that still means you need to get an As in them for it to be worth while.