My mother just told me to quit. More below.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The Last Reclaimer

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
because Im about to turn 24 and haven't taken the MCAT right after I graduated undergrad back in Dec of 2019, my mother thinks I should just quit pursuing medicine. This hurt. I am working right now at an assisted living/memory care facility for clinical hours and starting to study for mcat. If any of you had similar experiences with not going straight to med school right out of undergrad I would just appreciate insight or opinions. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

The decision is yours and yours alone. Everyone has a different path, and the average age of matriculants is now around 25 I believe. Taking some time after college before application is perfectly fine and pretty normal these days. I am going to start med school in July at the age of 27. I am actually grateful for the time and experiences I've had since graduating college and personally feel much more mentally ready now than I would have at 22. If medicine is what you want to pursue, don't let others stop you.

Reactions: 4 users
because Im about to turn 24 and haven't taken the MCAT right after I graduated undergrad back in Dec of 2019, my mother thinks I should just quit pursuing medicine. This hurt. I am working right now at an assisted living/memory care facility for clinical hours and starting to study for mcat. If any of you had similar experiences with not going straight to med school right out of undergrad I would just appreciate insight or opinions. Thanks.