My DAT Breakdown and Advice AA 20

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sameffect

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Firstly, thank you to my friends and famliy who have supported me in this long long journey and also, thank you to every one who took their time out and responded to my questions on this forum. You guys are amazing!!

3 years ago, I was a dental student in Pakistan and everything was going smoothly, but then we got our USA permanent residency and we were faced with a decision of whether to move to a foreign country and restart my path to dentistry or to continue my studies in Pakistan. Safe to say, we made the right decision :D

The breakdown:
MAKE YOUR OWN STUDY SCHEDULE. Do not rely on the schedules made by other people. Only you know what your strength and weaknesses are. Do not put off your weak sections for a later day. Work on them as soon as possible. I started studying during the second week of May (after finals) and kept studying for 5-10 hours a day till July 12. I took a week off because I got burnt out (Losing too much weight, avoiding studies because I was getting scared of even reading the material, feeling lazy and telling myself I'm too tired to study). My advice is to have rest days. I didn't and it cost me. Also, I gave my DAT on July 13, but I encountered a lot of problems at the testing centre so they rescheduled me for a July 28 exam.

The exam will give you a tutorial at the start. Be sure to skip it ASAP. My tutorial was taking time out of my actual test.

First section- Sciences- Bio, GC, OC- 1hr 30min

Biology 19: