Muti disciplinary role?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gagan97

Reaction score
I am a med student who did a elective rotation in GI. Loved the combination of procedures and cerebral thinking. But it seems In the actual world gi is mostly outpatient and tend to work independently in endoscopy centers with not much interaction with other specialities. How true is this? I really like inpatient gi where you consult and do procedures and make diagnosis no one has a clue of

Members don't see this ad.

I am a med student who did a elective rotation in GI. Loved the combination of procedures and cerebral thinking. But it seems In the actual world gi is mostly outpatient and tend to work independently in endoscopy centers with not much interaction with other specialities. How true is this? I really like inpatient gi where you consult and do procedures and make diagnosis no one has a clue of

First off, you can take a job with as much inpatient GI as you want, in fact GI Hospitalists exist who do exclusively inpatient GI like you said. Obviously from a longevity standpoint this can burn you out- folks are hunting for those who want the stress and hours of the hospital so they can be productive scoping and seeing patients in outpatient centers. Most jobs in the real world, academic or private are a mix of inpt and outpatient, and you can find a job that balances how much of each you want.