MUA and federal loans vs current premed program and private loans

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

A_Future_MD

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was not a great student in my undergraduate years, mostly going part time and far from being able to be accepted to Ross, Saba, AUA, let alone a US DO or MD program. So I went the Caribbean route and accepted two offers. One from MUA's 2 semester premed program starting in January and one from another Med School I am currently attending (and am happy with) that has a 3 semester premed program which I just began in Sept.

Both have guaranteed acceptance to their Med School with a certain GPA, and the Med School I am at has a drastically lower attrition rate and higher US residency placement rate than MUA. So far, the premed program is very easy for me as I am an older student and approach everyday like a work day back home. I am able to tell quite early and get the impression from my professors as well that graduating medical school is very attainable for me.