MSW vs MPH as a precursor to Psych PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DeeRayy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everybody,

I currently have a BA in Psychology and research experience (RA work in a health psych laboratory and contributed to a publication). I graduated in 2014 and took time off to get some field experience since I was heavily interested in public health. I currently work as a program coordinator who helps support health education initiatives at a local university (which I love doing).

There is currently a strong chance that I will eventually apply to a PhD program in health psychology, as I would eventually like to research health behaviors, health disparities (particularly mental health disparities), and culturally competent preventative interventions/policies (particularly within Latino communities).

I do not currently feel prepared to commit to an academic PhD at the moment and would like to pursue a professional degree before in order to gain marketable job skills and additional research methods knowledge/experience. I have narrowed down my choices to either an MPH or an MSW with a specialization in community mental health.

I'm weighing the pros and cons of each degree and this is how I feel about both:

The MSW is a slight front runner because it will give me the option to practice psychotherapy (which is not my ultimate career goal, but would be a very useful skill set to have heading into both a PhD program and the current job market), and would be a more affordable degree. My concern, however, is that this degree may not be as research-intensive as I would like. I also am a little afraid of becoming burnt-out by clinical work and of the salary that an MSW would grant me.