MSIII Concern About Sugery Clerkship grade

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ENTforME

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well...i am upset...I studied VERY VERY hard for my surgery shelf - i passed but the shelf is 80% of our grade...so I passed surgery and that's it! I want to go into OTO and some posts says rotation grades are imp. how does this affect my application?

Members don't see this ad.

I can appreciate your anxiety. However, what exactly do you want here?

If I say to you "man you are screwed, I would never try ENT with just a PASS in surgery" are you not going to apply?

Maybe you are hoping for someone to say "Man I have a friend who failed medical school two years and still matched to Mass Eye and Ear"

There are certain things about your application that you can't change. Lamenting Step scores or course grades after the fact is pointless. Do the best you can to prepare and take the results as they come. Don't let anyone dissuade you from applying for a field that you want to do.

Good luck!

Pir8DeacDoc is right on. There are close to 300 ENT spots every yr and I can guarantee you that not all of those applicants honored everything and had amazing Step scores. Some even failed a course. Some failed a Step (trust me). No one's perfect and people striving for the "best" school/ residency/ whatever tend to lose sight of this. If you want it, go for it and concentrate on kicking the sh%$ out of the things ahead of you. Those are the only outcomes that you can affect now.

So what's it going to be?

Members don't see this ad :)
wow dude, 80% of your grade? that was a pretty tough exam. At my school the shelf is only 15% of the grade. I actually ended up doing pretty crappy on it but still got honors (but i barely studied for it given how much it was worth).