MS1 Research in Ireland?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gunny

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in a Carribean school and for two months in the summer they encourage us to do research. I've never done any before, and would like whatever input you guys have!

Have you done research? What in? Did it result in you getting published?

They set aside two months for our project, which should essentially be self directed, and inspired by our Basic Sciences (I'm in M1 at the moment, and they recommend that we do it in Anatomy or Physiology!)

There's a nearby hospital with really good lung and breast units, and I was thinking about trying to do it there. Should I just approach a doc from those units for advice? Anyone have any good ideas for something I could do in two short months? Anyone been in a similar boat? Any help or advice appreciated!

What's the story with research in Ireland?

Members don't see this ad.

It's as simple as asking :). Especially if you're willing not to earn very much, if any at all. I did research in the MS1 and MS2 summers in a collaboration with the Dept. of physiology and Dept. of physiotherapy (same project). Got lucky and happened to get involved in a fantastic project dealing with exercise physiology and possible rehab implications. Definitely involving basic sciences and in my area of interest as well :). Hope to carry it further time permitting. Possible publications...wrote it up this summer, but it's sitting dead at the moment because we've all gotten too busy to work on it and I think my supervisor might have other ideas for it. But it was a very useful experience.