MS /MA in clinical psychology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

minnesotateacup

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current undergrad and am hoping to eventually get a doctorate in clinical psychology. However, I'm thinking that I'll for sure need to get a master's first due to my undergrad record. What are some things that can help my chances of getting into a master's program for clinical work? My GPA is 3.18 (yikes...). However, I have research experience in two departments, work as a behavioral health tech at a substance abuse facility, and volunteer at a hospice center. Other than the obvious answer of improving my GPA, is there anything that I can do in addition to this that might help my chances of acceptance? If I can't get into a master's program, is this experience enough to get into an MSW program?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a current undergrad and am hoping to eventually get a doctorate in clinical psychology. However, I'm thinking that I'll for sure need to get a master's first due to my undergrad record. What are some things that can help my chances of getting into a master's program for clinical work? My GPA is 3.18 (yikes...). However, I have research experience in two departments, work as a behavioral health tech at a substance abuse facility, and volunteer at a hospice center. Other than the obvious answer of improving my GPA, is there anything that I can do in addition to this that might help my chances of acceptance? If I can't get into a master's program, is this experience enough to get into an MSW program?