MPH During MD or Preventive Med Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shaunaiam

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
First, if this has been answered I'm sorry. I did a quick search of the forums and couldn't find an answer.
I'm currently a first year medical student "planning" on doing the dual MD/MPH (MPH between 2nd and 3rd year, minimal extra during yr. 1 and 2). I was wondering if anyone knows much about the pros/cons of just doing it now, or doing it as the academic year part of a preventive medicine residency. I know that during a prev. med residency either the MPH tuition is paid, or you get a PGY2 salary, or both, depending on the particular program. I may do the IM/Prev Med residency. I guess what I am asking is:
1) Is it worth the extra cash to do it now rather than later?
2) How competitive are these programs? I know there are more positions available in prev. med programs post-MPH than pre. Am I going to screw myself by thinking it will be no problem to do it later, and take the chance of not getting into one of the prev. med residencies I want because they have less spots for the MPH-included track? (Specifically, I really like Dartmouth's program, does anyone know specifically how competitive theirs is (the IM/Prev. Med residency)?)
If anyone can provide some guidance on this issue that would be great.

Members don't see this ad.

Hiya,

I hope some of the current SDNers who have done (or are doing) these can answer your questions (I've seen users post in favor of each route). But, I just wanted to mention a few quick points.

First, you might check out ACPM (http://www.acpm.org/medstudents.htm) and join. (The medical student section is only $25 for your med school career - my friend is the current president and has tried to make a lot of improvements this year).