Other OT-Related Information MOT or OTD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

INeedToChill

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

Right now, I'm considering to both practice AND teach OT. Is it a good idea to go in the practice, then the teaching route for occupational therapy? Is it worth getting my OTD to teach? What's holding me back is that I'll be giving all four of my limbs if I choose the doctorate route.

Originally, I want to just get my MOT, since an OTD isn't required. While applying, I work as a high school teacher. While I enjoy teaching, I'm leaning more towards OT. I want to incorporate both jobs together -- practice OT once I graduate, then teach it in the distant future.

I just need some input. I am applying to both OTD and MOT schools. Thank you guys, and best wishes on applying this year!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Kudos to you for looking ahead at what you'd like your career as an OT to look like! I think your eventual decision about which degree to pursue will come down to what you see for yourself in the future. I also have a degree and experience with teaching, and I want to teach OT as well! However, after talking with faculty members in my program and others, I think that being a faculty member at an OTA program will be a better fit for my life and career plans.