Montefiore?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BrickCityGas

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Back on the interview trail, after an unsuccessful try last year...so far only one interview invite at Montefiore.

Can anybody comment on what the hell is going on with this program...I understand they have a new PD and Chairperson...scutwork seems to be trashing them...

I'm happy for the opportunity to interview at this program but is this program stable enough to risk my future if accepted?

Please comment!

Members don't see this ad.

I would stay away from that program. I was a resident there. Incredibly malignant and unpleasant place to be. They have been very close to being on probation several times. Before I finished, the dean of the medical school and the medical director had a meeting with all of the residents and told us that if the department didn't get their act together, the school would have no qualms about shutting down the program. The department has had several years to make changes and hasn't done so. It is my understanding that despite the new program director nothing has changed. That's my two cents.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
so hard to take the word of people with just one post (especially when its such a negative view)....

i can't tell you how the situation is as far as residency goes, but when I interviewed there last year, I was pleased with what I saw. I must say though, they had one of the toughest interviews as far as anesthesia interviews go. A lot of questions like "how do you study best?", "where do you see yourself in 10 years", "what are you looking for in a program". Also, downside from what i hear - you work your butt off, so if you're looking for a chill program, might as well look elsewhere.