Military Scholarship???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

serina

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'll be starting dental this fall and I'm seriously considering military scholarship. Although I've been doing research on it and have been trying to get opinions from people, I'm having a hard time deciding whether it would be a good choice. I was wondering if anyone here is taking the scholarship or know someone who has experienced it. Any insights would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

-------------------------
UCSF Class of 2008

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a second year student with a four year HPSP scholarship through the Army.

The very first thing I would say about this scholarship is that if you are considering it ONLY for the monetary aspect then DO NOT APPLY FOR IT. Depending on how much your school costs you can make more money in private practice, come out even or make a little bit more with the scholarship than if you did it all on loans. However, the bull**** factor is going to be much higher in the military.

On the other hand, if you have a desire to serve your country, practice dentistry in a nice environment, work with experienced clinicians, be decently compensated, have less stress during school and live it up a little in school then I would urge you to consider a military scholarship. Out of the above list I would say that the primary criterion should be desire to serve your country, if you don't have this then you will most likely be unhappy with the scholarship.

I am very happy that I've accepted this scholarship (even more so since I just heard there is likely to be an 8% tuition increase next year). The Army has never been late with paying my monthly stipend, paying tuition at school or reimbursing me for my books. It is at times difficult and frustrating to get straight answers to my questions but you take the bad with the good.