Military Pharmacy Residencies

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ramj

Reaction score
I am an incoming P2 student and I have been exploring different career paths that I can take. I'm very familiar with almost every pharmacy job setting a pharmacist can do but what I am curious about is a pharmacist in the military. I know there are residency programs in the military for all branches and that they do not participate in the ASHP Match but I want more information as to how to apply, whether a fresh pharmacy graduate can apply or if a person has to work in the military as a pharmacist for a few years and then apply. Also how competitive is this program? Is GPA or resume a very critical part of this application process?

Separate question:
As a military pharmacist, people here answer that "you are an officer first and a pharmacist second" does this mean that at some duty stations, pharmacists do not even do their job as a pharmacist?

Members don't see this ad.

Yes you have to already be in the military. Being an officer first means you have lots of admin tasks to do, as well as managing all the enlisted troops. You will not be doing any other job besides pharmacy though. Do not join the military unless you want to really be IN the military.

Reactions: 1 user
I am an incoming P2 student and I have been exploring different career paths that I can take. I'm very familiar with almost every pharmacy job setting a pharmacist can do but what I am curious about is a pharmacist in the military. I know there are residency programs in the military for all branches and that they do not participate in the ASHP Match but I want more information as to how to apply, whether a fresh pharmacy graduate can apply or if a person has to work in the military as a pharmacist for a few years and then apply. Also how competitive is this program? Is GPA or resume a very critical part of this application process?