Medical school or practicing medicine in the UK (from US)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doublepeak

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently in my last year of undergraduate at a university in the US. I am a US citizen. I have submitted my application to a few US medical schools. However, I was looking into applying to schools in the UK because I much prefer a socialized medical system, and my fiance wants to work in international development (and the UK has much more employment and schooling oppurtunities in that field). My fiance has dual UK/US citizenship but is a resident of only the US while I have no other ties to the UK. After we get married (next May) and being in Britian, his parents said that it would be straightforward to obtain citizenship.

It seems as most US students want to go to medical school in the UK and eventually return to the US to do residencies, etc. But, if I got accepted into a UK school I would want to stay in Britian.

My questions:
1) How competitive is it to get into a British medical school in their graduate entry program (I have only found a couple of them)? I would prefer to be in England. I have a 3.85 GPA in chemistry and exercise physiology double major. I completed general honors requirements for my school. Whenever I look online I am confused with the A-level, etc examinations that I am unfamiliar with. It will cost a lot of money and effort for me to apply because I would have to fly in for interviews, take different examination, etc. so I don't want to waste it if I only have a small chance.