Medical School In India

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iPremed

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey!

I was thinking of different options for medical school.

I am a sophomore at a top 35 university. I recently posted my grades on another thread named "losing hope" for anyone who wants to know them.

I am an Indian and have lived in the US from the age of 6. I was born in India though and am an Indian citizen but a US permanent resident.

If I study medicine abroad in India, it would be 5 years. (no undergrad necessary....I will have done 2 years of undergrad here in the US though). This would result in attaining an MBBS and then you can go on to do 2 more years to get an MD.

Language and culture wouldn't be a problem for me. I would probably be one of the oldest students for that graduating class however since I would be 20 at the time. Most of the entering students would be 17 - 18.

I don't know how this would work though since I have already studied 1.5 years of undergrad here and it will be 2 yrs by the time I start med school. Do any of you know people who have done this? Did they think it was worth it?

Would I have to take board exams to get in even though I have graduated from an AMerican high school and am attending college?

How easy is it to find a residency if I plan on practicing in the US? I don't know how this would be perceived since I have done all of my schooling in the US so far. Would it look bad if I went to India just for med school?

Also, since I am not an American citizen, would I be considered like an international student for residency if I graduate from medical school in a foreign country?

Do any of you know how exams compare to those in the US for med school?

Would this be worth doing?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: