Medical school chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I’m a biological sciences sophomore with a 3.477 GPA (3.29 science GPA).

I’ve been told that I’m not competitive at the moment for med school. I like medicine a lot and want to be realistic about my chances.

I’d also like to list my extracurriculars so you can see my whole resume:

- member of my student newspaper
-I’ll be working in an HIV lab on my campus starting this summer
- I’ve been invited to join the board of committee for a charity so I can gain leadership skills and plan volunteering while gaining hours myself
-I mascot (shh!!! Secret :) )
-applied for a Graduate School preparation program and if I get in, I’ll be going to conferences and presenting my research.
-I shall also set up a time to shadow my neighbor who’s an OB/GYN.

I’m also hoping that if I DO apply, I can get a letter of recommendation from my orgo 1 professor. I started studying in the summer and have done really good in orgo - he said I was in the top 5% of my class for final orgo grades even though I got a B.

Hoping to get 3As 1B this semester if I work really hard.

PLEASE be honest and give me practical advice for increasing my chances. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Your MCAT will be very important. Hard to advise without knowing that. Your SciGPA is a little light. An MCAT in lower 500s will get you a look from some DO schools. You will need a 515 plus to get any attention from MD schools. Just my opinion. Good luck and bet wishes.

Your MCAT will be very important. Hard to advise without knowing that. Your SciGPA is a little light. An MCAT in lower 500s will get you a look from some DO schools. You will need a 515 plus to get any attention from MD schools. Just my opinion. Good luck and bet wishes.