Medical School Applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gamecocks12

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
A

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a third year student at a 4 Year University and I plan on attending medical school in the Fall of 2019. Below I am going to list a few of my statistics to see what some of you think about my chances of being accepted into any medical schools.
GPA-2.7
Bio 1-A Lab-B
Bio 2-B Lab-A
Ecology-C
Genetics-A
Chemistry 1-C Lab-B
Chemistry 2-C Lab-A
Psychology-D Plan on retaking in the Spring of '18
Sociology B
Math 100-F took it my first semester of college. I was undecided at the time and did not know what I wanted to do Currently have not taken MS112 or MS113. Plan on taking both in the Spring of '18
Shadowing: Neurologist in my local area (25 hours)
Attended High School in a rural area.
My GPA has somewhat of an Upward trend. Made the Deans list 2 semesters ago. Had 1 C in the Spring of '17
As of right now your app is lethal. I don't see any evidence that you can handle med school.

Your GPA is too low for MD and very low for DO. You have to raise your GPA to above 3.2 at least. And then maybe do a SMP. Your science grades are horrible. They don’t indicate that you would be successful in med school. You really need to take a step back and reevaluate. You won’t be anywhere near ready to apply during the upcoming cycle. It seems that You haven’t taken the MCAT and your ECs are rather weak. So all of that combined with your GPA spells little to no chance of being competitive.

Members don't see this ad :)