medical school and settling down in AUS..how does that work for a US student???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nk2050

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I was wondering if i get into an australian medical school and marry someone in aus(my boyfriend is from aus)…so probably by the 2 or 3rd yr of the medical school i will get pr…what happens then? Will they kick me out? Do I have to reapply as a local student? What are my chances anyway? or should I get the pr first then apply to their med schools? Is this going to be harder for me to get in? I am a student/citizen from US … have 3.5 GPA and 34 on mcat… the bottom line is I wanna get married and settle down in aus…I am also determined to get into med school..i am just not sure how I should approach and which path will be the cheapest…thanks in advance for any adviceJ

Members don't see this ad.

Instead of going to this board email the schools to see if getting PR will get you kicked out if you go to a medical school in Australia as an international student.

So I was wondering if i get into an australian medical school and marry someone in aus(my boyfriend is from aus)…so probably by the 2 or 3rd yr of the medical school i will get pr…what happens then? Will they kick me out? Do I have to reapply as a local student? What are my chances anyway? or should I get the pr first then apply to their med schools? Is this going to be harder for me to get in? I am a student/citizen from US … have 3.5 GPA and 34 on mcat… the bottom line is I wanna get married and settle down in aus…I am also determined to get into med school..i am just not sure how I should approach and which path will be the cheapest…thanks in advance for any adviceJ

I'm actually in pretty much the exact situation as you are, except I'm from Canada. Please let me know if you find anything out about this, and I'll do the same for you!

Members don't see this ad :)