Medical retina as a specialty?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eyedoctobe

Reaction score
Current PGY-2 resident considering subspecialties. What is the job market and compensation for medical retina look like? I realize I have very little experience being primary surgeon, but not convinced I would miss the OR, and avoiding post-op complications also sounds tempting.

Members don't see this ad.

Compensation wise you should see strong support for $300K+ starting salaries in private practices, more in rural areas. The highest I've placed someone with was a $450K base in a rural midwest, physician-owned practice. You can eventually make high 6 figures, maybe 7 if you're a partner and have a very busy clinic.

Jobs can be a little harder to find:
You've indicated you would likely want to stop doing cataract surgery. In my opinion, that's the best option if you choose to go medical retina. You can be 100% retina and focus solely on that. You should be open-minded about seeing some comprehensive/routine patients in the clinic starting out if you're not in a retina-only group. If you do decide you want to do surgery, this can create a tricky practice pattern. If you're willing to go to a rural/semi-rural area, this pattern can actually work great. If you're in a large metro, you'll likely need to join a large multi-specialty practice that can feed you retina patients internally. It will be harder to get retina patients from other ophthalmologists given you do cataract surgery as well.

If you do decide to do retina-only, you can seek out retina-only groups. This will be hit or miss, some retina-only groups love having a med. retina doc to ease the patient load. Some do not because you cannot fully be on the call schedule due to not doing surgery. I've seen this be a non-starter with retina groups. However, again, if you're willing to go rural/semi-rural these groups generally don't care.