MD to PharmD? Has anyone done it in this order, and is it worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dr_andi2

Reaction score
Hello,

There are a few posts out there about people doing PharmD --> MD, but has anyone with an MD done a PharmD after? Is there any sense in doing this?

I am an MD student at an accredited international medical school. My fiance is a DO student in the US. We both want to start a family as soon as we graduate.

There is no guarantee that we will both find medical residency through couples matching so we need to prepare accordingly. From my previous research, it seems that an MD without residency in the US (and you need at least one year of residency to get a license) does not offer many stable career paths. As far as I know, I can't even do a clinical pharmacology fellowship with an MD if I'm not board certified (completed residency) first!

I found out about some online PharmD programs after I already accepted my position in medical school. I went to medical school because I am passionate about the biomedical sciences - neuroscience in particular - and wanted a stable career while making a difference in the field of clinical medicine. I worked with many PhD students and graduates and the job situation post-grad seemed rough, so I didn't go that route. I love the idea of working in clinical research or doing some type of consulting. Interestingly, my favorite subject in medical school so far has been pharmacology.

If I were to do an online PharmD, after four years I would be a licensed PharmD! This would be about the same amount of time it would take me to complete an MD residency (provided I was offered a position immediately and didn't take time off to have a child).

What's your insight into this - is there any benefit to tacking on a PharmD after doing an MD?