MD Schools with COVID-19 Vaccine Religious Exemptions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

goup

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello - I am an admitted-MD pre-med student. Are there any MD schools that are known to allow religious exemptions for the COVID-19 vaccines?

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Agree, this is going to be a school by school basis.

Also, keep in mind you may actually be looking for a personal exemption rather than a religious exemption, since vaccination is opposed by a very small number of organized religions. Whether or not you can just check a box and get a religious exemption, vs having such a claim undergo any real scrutiny, is also likely something that would vary from school to school.

Reactions: 3 users
@goup Can you explain why your objection against COVID-19 vaccines is religious based?
Even the more religious schools like Loma Linda still state they expect their med students to be fully immunized.
Have you looked at the onboarding requirements for the school you have been accepted to? Most require a number of vaccines, not just COVID-19.

Last edited:
Reactions: 6 users
Another pertinent question is whether there is a residency program that trains the unvaccinated.
If OP cannot be licensed, this journey ends.
Similarly, if a program has early clinic rotations in the curriculum, the sites may require vaccination. You may be compelled to be vaccinated now that viable options are available.