MD Reapplicant School List Help (cGPA 3.58, sGPA 3.48, 513 MCAT)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emsea123

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
White Female
VA resident
Applied in 2021 cycle to 27 MD schools: 1 pre-II hold (Drexel), 2 waitlists (EVMS, Penn State) -> rejections

I'm certain that my school list (plus lack of volunteer hours + clinical experience at the time and some late secondary submissions -> late interviews) contributed to my lack of success last cycle. I'm looking for some advice with constructing a new school list. I would like to stay in Virginia if possible but obviously will be applying broadly anyway.

Background: I graduated from a tier 2 university in 2019 with a BS in Neuroscience and a BA in French and Francophone studies. I know that my stats aren't stellar, but I have a really diverse set of experiences that I think set me apart in addition to my clinical experience. I also have an interesting reason for choosing the medical field (fast summary: my mother is an addict, leading me to neuroscience, which led me to explore the medical field and realize I could apply my curiosity and experiences to improve the health and quality of life of others)

MCAT: 502 (124/125/125/128) -> 513 (128/128/129/128)

Undergrad:
(My school used +/- grading scale and all my A-'s hurt me a lot, but I had a strong upward trend with a 3.93 my final semester.)
cGPA: 3.56
sGPA: 3.46

Post-Bacc:
4.0 (in two science courses)

Cumulative: cGPA 3.58, sGPA 3.48

ECs: (new ones in blue)
  • Paid Clinical Experience:
    • medical scribe at a dermatology practice (~1300 hours)
    • currently a clinical research coordinator for the school of medicine that I would LOVE to attend (~1000 hours expected by the time I submit my app)
  • Research:
    • Research Assistant at ICM - The Brain and Spine Institute (Paris, France) where I worked on multiple sclerosis research in French ~ 300 hours