This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedDesigner

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm a non-traditional student looking to get deeper into the medical field.
I was an Industrial Design Undergrad and focused on Medical Technology. I created a technology, no working on licensing for rehabilitation tech for deaf and hard of hearing. In my undergrad I focused on engineering courses and medical technology in global health. Since finishing my undergrad I started getting much more interested in the science, treatment, and prevention behind neurological disorders and other common diseases. I'm still somewhat interested in medical products when applicable but I think I want to participate in more of the clinical and service side of medicine and working with patients.

I am also very interested in Global Health and combining neurology, epidemiology, and public health. I think a decent amount of experience for medical products where if, in the future, I come a cross a problem that needs to be solved with a product, or tech, I could figure it out. What I want now is the hard science and service side.

I am starting a fellowship next month working in integrative medicine and will have some opportunities to shadow and work with doctors which will give me more experience. I am also looking into some volunteer programs or medical scribe positions to get even more experience and add to my resume.

So, I have been considering a couple different options.
First off, I think I will need to go get a post-bacc. The only course I have right now are 1 semester of Calc I, Conceptual Physics, and Biomaterials Engineering Technology (Masters course but it probably doesn't count towards anything). However, I am not sure if this would do me any good if I decide to go the MS route.