This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zero_Nature

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can one be a doctor as a DO and an MD?

I used to have this professor that went on and on about how a student of his was a doctor of both osteopathy and medicine. His story goes as she was a DO student who just had to take a test to also get her MD while she was taking her exams for DO. He said that DO exams were harder as they encompassed the whole of the body when determining a solution, so it was nothing for her to just get her MD as well. I've been doing some of my research, but I don't see much on the subject. Basically, I am asking whether or not one can become both an MD and a DO doctor without having to go through medical school twice. Would it even be beneficial to have both when a physician?

Members don't see this ad.

Once I got my MD degree, I just took my Bar b/c med school was so much harder. I will be getting my PHD in engineering tomorrow too.

Reactions: 9 users
Your professor is ignorant. MD and DO are two separate degrees that both allow you to to practice medicine as a physician in any specialty (though MDs are more likely to get into surgical and certain other competitive residencies). Both MDs and DOs receive education in treating the entire patient, but DOs receive additional training in something called called osteopathic manipulative medicine - similar to chiropracty - which they rarely use in practice. The OMM training does not make them better (or worse) physicians. There is no reason why someone would get both an MD and DO degree, and you cannot simply pass a test to the get the other degree after you've obtained one of them.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I’ve met a D.O. who told me years ago, she was able to purchase something or do something of some sort where she is now able to go by M.D. in her last name