MCAT requirements and deadline Qs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eg77

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm just beginning to look into applying to UK and Irish Med schools and thought I'd ask a few Qs here first:

1. Is the MCAT required for the med schools in these countries? and if so, how important are they in comparison to US schools?

2. Is admission generally a rolling process like the US or is it total review of applicants like the Canadian system?

3. And is the "Atlantic Bridge" a centralized application system similar to AMCAS?!?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi eg77 !
For med schools in Ireland, I think Trinity is the only school which doesn't require MCAT. As for other school(s), I guess you could still apply without the MCAT but I was told you might/will be place in their 6yrs program (if the school is still running the 6yrs prgm).
Browse the ABP website : www.atlanticbridge.com
Or you could give them a call .... Mr. Louis D. Keenan is a very helpful person that you can talk to. :thumbup:

Good Luck!! :luck: :luck:

ucd does not require mcat. at least they didn't when i applied in 2003.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thank you guys very much for the responses and the insight. How about deadlines? Is it a rolling admission or is there a certain deadline and afterwards all the applicants are reviewed.

Thanks again in advance

yeah it's rolling...sooner you apply, sooner you'll find out...don't think anyone hears much before early march though, no matter how soon you apply....i got my stuff in very late, right before the feb 15 deadline, found out in late june

Thanks Badkarma,