MCAT Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Blitzman

Reaction score
Hello Guys! I'm new to sdn and am applying to med school this cycle. Having recently taken the MCAT and improved 17 points from my first practice test, I just wanted to make a thread in case anyone had any study questions about it :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
My first practice test score was a 506 and I improved to a 523. So just some information that might help:

Total: 523 PS: 130 CARS: 131 BS: 132 Psych: 130

The study method used for each section:
PS: I used TPR for heavy content review and took detailed notes on each section. I also used their practice sections apart from practicing on the full length tests. Making an equation sheet as I went was really helpful so that I could look over it every other night just to ultimately memorize them.
CARS: The only way to really improve on this section is to do a whole bunch of practice passages. I didn't like TPR method and instead used it as a starting point. Though it sounds counterintuitive, I decided to go about it by not reading the whole passage and rather skimming. My score took a hit when I first started but quickly improved once I had it down. I was consistently getting 126 on CARS sections and then improved to regularly getting 130 once I changed my strategy. I used the Exam Krackers practice sections for this along with the AAMC question backs (though I didn't find them as helpful oddly).
BS: Honestly, researching helped a lot with this. And if you don't research, any lab course where you can do some bench work would really help on this section. I used TPR for review with this and also just the notes I had from my pre-req classes.