MCAT prep help for non traditional non science student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

graciala

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
its been a difficult year already for this non science and non traditional student prepping for Mcat. I am so confused don't even know where to start. I am studying for mcat and seems to have zero content knowledge. Everything looks foreign to me. Don't understand majority of the stuff its becoming frustrating. I bought kaplan online prep plus and just sits in the class without learning much, all because my content is all but gone. Its soo bad that I even have to start reviewing periodic tables symbols and atomic numbers,,,,,,, kaplan diagnostic test was 479, and MCAT FL 480 as diagnostic too (took it b4 starting any prep just to see where am at, honestly it was mostly guessing!!)

Background: 1st degree in Accounting, and MBA, then did all my PA school prerequisites at community college (last class 2008 I did ochem part 1 but not part 2, also dropped out of biochem class because it was tough and PA school didn't need it) . cGPA 3.6. Being a PA for almost 10 yrs now but the science content is still different & lacking. My community college classes were not strong enough at the time and since I wasn't a science student I only had to push myself to get good grades into PA school first. I work everyday unfortunately but now taking a day off.

Now forget about all the excuses which are not needed. Please also no need to ask why not stay as PA.

how can I prepare for this mcat?, how should I start studying and building my content before even trying practice test (which is always the best way from my PA exam experience but after having some moderate content knowledge)?

retake ochem /bio chem class? (gosh I don't have that much time to now take 2days minimum to take these classes whilst prepping too,,,,, get a private tutor? Does kaplan 1:1 works?