Massachusetts :(

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LuvTheMices

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I live in Boston. Born and raised and love it. Not so great that my dream is to be a Vet. And that Tufts happens to be in Mass. And that 50% of accepted Vet students at Tufts are FROM OUT OF STATE!!!

Tufts is a great school and it would be so awesome to go there, even though I may be 150,000 in debt, but honestly my chances of getting into my own states Vet school suck. And I am getting discouraged. Looking at nice pretty places like Cali, Fl, and NCstate, statistically accept maybe 1 person a year from Mass.

Any comments are appreciated :scared:
Mass residents, where are you ladies and gents going to Vet school?!?!?!

Members don't see this ad.

Well I'm a MA resident, born and raised on Cape Cod but I went to undergrad and graduate school in NJ (which is where I am now). This is my first year applying but I don't feel like the odds are so bad with Tufts as an instate applicant. Certainly they are better than any of the other schools I've applied to (NCSU, UFL, Cornell, UPenn, CSU, UC-Davis, and Tufts).

But there are many schools that take a good number of OOS students (The OSU off the top of my head, maybe KSU? etc).

Just make yourself a comptetitive applicant, apply to places you would be willing to go to for 4 years (you can always come back to MA afterwards), and you'll get there.

Personally for me I would like going back to MA simply because I've been gone so long and I miss it. But at the same time, I know I'll probably settle down there in the long run, so 4 years on the other side of the country or down in florida or up in Ithaca would suit me just fine as well.

Thanks for the feedback. Yeah I wouldn't mind going away because I will always love Boston and love to come back.. a little light shed on my situation.. thanks again

Members don't see this ad :)