Marrying an MD/PhD student!

Sonnet34

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This question would be so much more simple but I am also a medical school student!

I'm a current MS1 and my significant other is an MD/PhD student at another school, also in first year.
Recently we've been having talks about when to get married and I am simply at a loss of what to say. Ideally, we'd want to get married when we're able to live together, but I have no idea what is going on regarding that. Our lives are pretty out-of-sync right now.

Has anyone experienced a similar situation or has helpful advice regarding when we should get engaged/when we should get married? I think we're both getting a little antsy, but I have no idea when our schedules would actually even have the possibility of us ending up in the same place for a while. I'm pretty clueless, and I don't know anyone who has been in a similar situation. Any advice or suggestions?

Thanks so much in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Nobody? :(
Am I allowed to repost this or move this to, for example, the Medical Student forums? (Because I'm a med student and all)

In my experience long distance relationship does not work. His MD/Phd = your MD + residency. So lot so lonely nights!

Members don't see this ad :)
My advice would be to get engaged/married whenever you both feel like you're ready. If you put your lives on hold for your medical training, you won't get married for another decade. Since you won't realistically be able to live together until after you finish med school (and that's assuming you match in the same city for residency), the real question is whether you'd be willing to have a long-distance marriage. I know some people who do it and make it work, but most people don't like being separated from their spouse.

My advice is: bail. Lots of fish in the sea and honestly lonliness for a short time is really really healthy especially when you are studying your butt off.