Marine Mammal Externship - Any help is appreciated.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

beshhami

Have a little faith.
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone have any contacts for zoos/aquariums/etc that have externships in marine mammal medicine? I am in my first year and would love any opportunity to get involved in this area of medicine. I will travel pretty much anywhere.

Also, does anyone know of any good marine mammal anatomy books?

Thanks for any help!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Does anyone have any contacts for zoos/aquariums/etc that have externships in marine mammal medicine? I am in my first year and would love any opportunity to get involved in this area of medicine. I will travel pretty much anywhere.

Thanks for any help!

Mystic Aquarium in Mystic, CT does externships.

Thanks for any help!

go to AAZV.org. They have a link to all exotic/zoo/aquarium externships. I think they may do marine mammals, as well.

http://www.aazv.org/displaycommon.cfm?an=1&subarticlenbr=333

Members don't see this ad :)
Thank you so much for replying so quickly.

I looked into the Mystic Aquarium and unfortunately they don't do summer externships for vet students.

I am going to have to dig a little deeper into the AAZV.org website. So far I have only found externships for 4th year students, but that looks like a great resource just the same. I will have to check some more states and hopefully I'll come across some for 1st year students as well! Thanks :)